The Pilgrim: A Celebration of Kris Kristofferson - Free US Shipping


The Pilgrim: A Celebration of Kris Kristofferson - Free US Shipping


American Roots Publishing (2006)
Produced by Tamara Saviano, Tom Frouge and Randy Scruggs

Track Listing

  1. The Pilgrim: Chapter 33 – Emmylou Harris & Friends (Sam Bush, Jon Randall, Byron House, Randy Scruggs) (3:51)

  2. Maybe You Heard – Todd Snider (3:28)

  3. The Circle – Marta Gómez (4:20)

  4. Lovin' Him Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again) – Rosanne Cash (3:37)

  5. Come Sundown – Rodney Crowell (3:15)

  6. For The Good Times – Lloyd Cole & Jill Sobule (3:25)

  7. Jesus Was A Capricorn – Marshall Chapman (3:51)

  8. The Silver Tongued Devil – Shooter Jennings (5:08)

  9. Sunday Morning Coming Down – Gretchen Wilson (6:01)

  10. Sandinista – Patty Griffin & Charanga Cakewalk (4:13)

  11. Darby's Castle – Russell Crowe and The Ordinary Fear of God (3:57)

  12. Me And Bobby McGee – Brian McKnight (4:59)

  13. Smile At Me Again (instrumental) – Randy Scruggs (2:43)

  14. The Captive – Jessi Colter w/special guest Vance Haines (3:53)

  15. Help Me Make It Through The Night – Bruce Robison & Kelly Willis (3:03)

  16. Why Me – Shawn Camp (3:34)

  17. The Legend – Willie Nelson (6:25)

Coda: Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends – Kris Kristofferson (demo recording, circa 1970) (3:15)

Add To Cart

What critics are saying about The Pilgrim: A Celebration of Kris Kristofferson

One of the most consistently engaging and worthwhile Americana tribute albums of recent years.
— Barry Mazor, No Depression
What makes the album work is the distinctive personal voice each artist gives to these earthy, poetic tunes.
— Michael McCall, Associated Press
There’s a palpable sense of love and respect permeating this cozy and homey 70th birthday party.
— Jeff Tamarkin,
This exemplary tribute showcases the many facets of his songwriting—political, spiritual, self-mythologizing, peerlessly romantic—while celebrating the esteem in which he’s held by generations of fellow artists.
— Don McLeese,
Kristofferson’s true genius is his ability to write about romance, spirituality, and social consciousness with equal amounts of intensity and elegance, and the 18 songs here expose those qualities with obvious reverence.
— Jim Caligiuri, Austin Chronicle
What’s a fitting gift for a legendary singer/songwriter for his 70th birthday? How about a tribute album? Even better, how about a great tribute album?
— Christy Goelz, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
The producers were apparently pretty serious about taking chances and about illustrating Kristofferson’s sphere of influence… Hopefully there are several chapters yet to be written for Kristofferson and for American Roots, which might just want to clear some shelf space next to that Grammy.
— Sean Moores,
The final track, listed as ‘Coda,’ has Kristofferson himself delivering his 1970 song ‘Please Don’t Tell Me How the Story Ends.’ Sorry to ruin it for you, Kris, but the story ends with you being an all-time country music great, and this album testifies to that fact.
— Tom Farrell, Hustler Magazine
The second of American Roots Publishing’s ‘The New Great American Songbook Series,’ The Pilgrim matches their first release, Beautiful Dreamer: The Songs of Stephen Foster in ambition, scope, and the successful realization of their lofty artistic goals.
— Steven Stone, Vintage Guitar
This is one tribute album that surpasses expectations by offering some engaging interpretations of his timeless material.
Newhouse News Service