This One’s For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark

sold out

This One’s For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark


Click here to buy on Amazon

Icehouse Music (2011)
Produced by Tamara Saviano and Shawn Camp

Track Listing

Volume 1

  1. That Old Time Feeling – Rodney Crowell

  2. Anyhow I Love You – Lyle Lovett

  3. All He Wants Is You – Shawn Colvin

  4. Homeless – Shawn Camp

  5. Broken Hearted People – Ron Sexsmith

  6. Better Days – Rosanne Cash

  7. Desperadoes Waiting For A Train – Willie Nelson

  8. Baby Took A Limo To Memphis – Rosie Flores

  9. Magdalene – Kevin Welch

  10. Instant Coffee Blues – Suzy Bogguss

  11. Homegrown Tomatoes – Ray Wylie Hubbard

  12. Let Him Roll – John Townes Van Zandt II

  13. The Guitar – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott

  14. Cold Dog Soup – James McMurtry

  15. Worry B Gone – Hayes Carll

Volume 2

  1. Dublin Blues – Joe Ely

  2. Magnolia Wind – Emmylou Harris & John Prine

  3. The Last Gunfighter Ballad – Steve Earle

  4. All Through Throwing Good Love After Bad – Verlon Thompson

  5. The Dark – Terri Hendrix

  6. LA Freeway – Radney Foster

  7. The Cape – Patty Griffin

  8. Hemingway’s Whiskey – Kris Kristofferson

  9. Texas Cookin’ – Gary Nicholson, Darrell Scott & Tim O’Brien

  10. Stuff That Works – Jack Ingram

  11. Randall Knife – Vince Gill

  12. Texas 1947 – Robert Earl Keen

  13. Old Friends – Terry Allen

  14. She Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere – The Trishas

  15. My Favorite Picture of You – Jerry Jeff Walker

Click here to buy on Amazon

Buy on Amazon

The key to producing a great tribute album lies in assigning the songs to the singers, and the ones here are well-matched. Most of the artists hit the precarious balance between honoring the original work and making it their own. It all sounds as natural as the pickin’ parties at Clark’s house in the 1970s…
— NPR All Things Considered
…this tribute may do a better job of conveying Clark’s power than his own recordings. Not only did co-producers Tamara Saviano and Shawn Camp masterfully match artists to songs, they coaxed forth deliveries that make us understand why these songs still matter.
American Songwriter
If you’re looking for clunkers, you’ll have to look elsewhere. Every performance on This One’s For Him is a showpiece for both the performers and the song. Although the concept behind this album is that it’s a gift to Guy Clark, the true recipients are his fans, along with anyone else who appreciates American traditional and roots music.
The best thing to be said about this tribute album is that it captures the magic of Clark’s music. While one can argue from song to song, who does it better – Clark or the other artist—In the end, it doesn’t matter. Clark’s songs are high quality enough for just about anybody to perform and sound good. There’s not a bad track on this double disc collection.
— Pop Matters
Icons and young guns alike all come together here as equals, each taking a page from the Clark songbook not to try to assert themselves and outdo each other but rather just to honor the handiwork ‘and make old Guy proud of us,’ as Crowell quips before kicking the whole thing off with ‘That Old Time Feeling.’…Of course a case could be made — and every artist on here would probably back it up — that nobody sings Clark songs better than Clark; still, there’s something about hearing a different voice (or voices) on every track here that makes each song stand out in a way they might not on a standard Clark ‘best of’ anthology.
Lonestar Music Magazine
Recorded live in studio with a core house band, as a tribute album This One’s For Him rises immediately to that top of that class, and paints a picture of Guy Clark as an American musical hero.
— Bentley’s Bandstand, The Morton Report